There are eight countries that allow investors to buy, sell or hold digital assets like bitcoin tax-free, under certain conditions. California is home to some of the biggest names in crypto such as Coinbase, Kraken and Ripple, but the U.S. is fragmented when it comes to regulating cryptocurrencies, facilitated by a consortium of American regulatory bodies such as the Commodities Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), Securities Exchange Commission (SEC), Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN),  and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and cryptocurrency gains are taxed similar to stocks. As world governments push through legislation to levy taxes on capital gains from bitcoin and other digital transactions, there are still a few countries that so pro-crypto, they still allow investors to buy, sell or hold digital assets at virtually tax-free. The list of tax-free countries include Portugal, Germany, Singapore, Malaysia, Belarus, Slovenia, Malta, and Switzerland. Moving your business operations to Singapore or Malta might not be so simple nor worth the costs in the long-run. For example, Malta notoriously doesn't tax long-term gains from digital currencies, either for capital gains or VAT purposes, but they tax day trading heavily at a rate of 35%. In Switzerland, one of Europe’s crypto havens, qualified individuals are not required to pay tax on their capital gains, however, income from mining is considered taxable income. Read for more details about the tax rules in each of these countries. Always talk to qualified tax professionals about how to declare and file your taxes properly, and you can also use tax software like CryptoTrader to integrate with multiple exchanges and determine your tax basis.